Aunt Nana’s Crochet: Sock Monkey Girl Beanie

Most people know that I am a beginning crocheter, and my best work comes from watching videos rather than following a pattern. Yesterday,  I tried out this free You Tube Video tutorial for a Girl Sock Monkey Beanie by Sabrina at Havoc Mayhem Creations. So stinking cute! There are four videos.

Unlike the tutorial, I fashioned my own eyes instead of sewing on real buttons. I would rather not put buttons on a wearable for a little one. The last thing I would want is for a young one to choke from wearing my creation. I crocheted the eyes instead by making a smaller version of the ears and dabbing the middle with a criss cross of brown yarn.

This pattern also calls for a flower on the monkey’s head. I have yet to crotchet a pretty flower (mighty frustrating). I’ll keep working on it. This really did not take that long to make.

Also, I made this beanie way too small for my niece Alexa, but this doesn’t mean I can’t try again!

IMG_3586-2

Leave a Reply

